The Museum is dedicated to the rich heritage of the Aber Valley in Caerphilly, with a particular emphasis on the two mines (The Universal Colliery in Senghenydd and the Windsor Colliery in Abertridwr) which once dominated the Valley. In particular the community have donated a great many photographs along with a vast array of artefacts and memorabilia all of which are on display in the various display cabinets and on the two inter-active touch screens.
Many of the displays relate to the mining disasters experienced by this small community, with 81 miners having been killed in the first Universal Colliery Disaster in 1901 followed in 1913 by the explosion which claimed the lives of 439 miners and one rescuer. The volunteers have also acquired several fascinating and moving films relating to this disaster, all of which can be viewed at the Heritage Museum.
Tea and coffee can be provided for visitors. There is also access to toilet facilities (including disabled toilets). There is plenty of on street parking, and the museum is on a bus route from Caerphilly. Groups are welcome (please give prior warning if possible).
The museum also sells local history books (including ‘The Valley of the Shadow’ which gives a thorough account of the 1901 and 1913 explosions.